Bug reports

English main discussion
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
Site Admin
Posts: 6311
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:20 am

Post by Instructor »

KDJ wrote:Text (at the end is new line char)...
Test version
It should be...
It should be:

Code: Select all

xbb
bbbx
Probably you mixed "Find next" and "Replace all" behavour of "\a.". When you press "Find next" first time, first "b" is selected - search range was from first symbol to last. When you press "Find next" second time, second "b" is selected - search range was from second symbol to last.

KDJ
Offline
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Poland

Post by KDJ »

Instructor
Test version is OK, thank you very much.
Probably you mixed "Find next" and "Replace all" behavour of "\a.". When you press "Find next" first time, first "b" is selected - search range was from first symbol to last. When you press "Find next" second time, second "b" is selected - search range was from second symbol to last.
Yes, I compared "Replace" function with "Replace all".
In the case of "Replace", the search range is variable. If you press "Replace" button 8 times, the result is:

Code: Select all

xxxxxxxx
In the case of "Replace all", the search range is constant (only one). And the result is (Count of changes = 2):

Code: Select all

xbb
bbbx
I wonder what the value should return the function "Count all occurrences". 8 or 2?

KDJ
Offline
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Poland

Post by KDJ »

Instructor
In "Find/Replace" dialog with regular expressions the following expression generates "Syntax error":
ab+c+|d
In the previous version it works well.

KDJ
Offline
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Poland

Post by KDJ »

Still about regular expressions.


(^a$a*)+ - works, no syntax error
(^a*$a*)+ - AkelPad hung



Text: any
What: .*
With: A\0Z

---
Direction: Begining

"Replace all" result:
AanyZAZ

"Replace" 1 result:
AZany
"Replace" 2 result:
AAZanyZ
Search finished.

---
Direction: In selection
Selected text: any

"Replace all" result:
AanyZAZ

"Replace" 1 result:
AanyZ
"Replace" 2 result:
AanAyZZ
"Replace" 3 result:
AanAyAZZZ
"Replace" 4 result:
AanAyAZAZZZ
"Replace" 5 result:
AanAyAZAZAZZZ
and so on ...

---
Direction: In selection
No selection.
Caret position - after "any".

"Replace all" result:
any
Count of chages: 0

"Replace" 1 result:
anyAZ
"Replace" 2 result:
anyAAZZ
"Replace" 3 result:
anyAAAZZZ
...

KDJ
Offline
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Poland

Post by KDJ »

Dialog "Settings", tab "Registry".
After pressing "Clear" button, does not work the keyboard (lost focus).

Offline
Site Admin
Posts: 6311
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:20 am

Post by Instructor »

KDJ wrote:ab+c+|d
KDJ wrote:(^a*$a*)+ - AkelPad hung
KDJ wrote:Text: any
What: .*
With: A\0Z
KDJ wrote:Dialog "Settings", tab "Registry".
Test version

KDJ
Offline
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Poland

Post by KDJ »

Instructor
Everything works fine except:
(^a*$a*)+

Text for test:

Code: Select all

any

text
AkelPad will be hanged.

Offline
Site Admin
Posts: 6311
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:20 am

Post by Instructor »


KDJ
Offline
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Poland

Post by KDJ »

Thanks Instructor, now is OK.

Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:27 am

Post by pureocean »

Firstly, Thanks you so much for AkelPad's development. Simple but wonderful and useful features utility. I always use every day! Thank you all for your efforts

It's a bug? I don't sure. I just wanted to let you know:

In last SVN builds, MPC-HC's last version settings file (INI) text format is changed. AkelPad can't display properly. Example file: http://ge.tt/api/1/files/3ZQfhcc/0/blob?download

P.S.: I got used to see original Notepad's Blue Icon. I always change "Icon Group" of every AkelPad's new version with original Notepad.exe's "Icon Group". It's easily with ResourceHacker. Of course, it's personal preference. :)

KDJ
Offline
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Poland

Post by KDJ »

pureocean
It is no a bug.
Your file mpc-hc.ini is encoded in UTF-8.
Probably, the previous version of the file was encoded in UTF-16LE.
The code page used to decode the file is displayed in the status bar.
If you have selected the option "Options"->"Settings"->"Registry"->"Remember code page", AkelPad remember the code page for recently opened files.
Uncheck this option and then the file should be displayed correctly.
Another solution:
Open mpc-hc.ini in AkelPad, press F12 (or right click on code page section in status bar) and run from context menu "Redetect".

Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:27 am

Post by pureocean »

KDJ, Thank you for the reply and tips.

Before one minute, I've read your message. And clicked to AkelPad. Strange: AkelPad just now can open properly. I was very suprised. No need to apply your suggestions. Still thanks for tips because it will be taught a lesson. ;)
Best regards!

KDJ
Offline
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Poland

Post by KDJ »

Don't work single replace with regular expressions:
Text: abxaby
What: (?<=a)b
With: c

Offline
Site Admin
Posts: 6311
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:20 am

Post by Instructor »

KDJ
Regular expressions still seaching from begin to end, so (?<=a) must be in the search range.

Offline
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:53 pm
Contact:

Caret bug in v4.8.4

Post by TheDutchJewel »

After updating to v4.8.4 the caret does only appear in new created files, not is saved/reopened ones.

Tested with x86 & x64 version.
Post Reply