Request for Block Indent function

English main discussion
  • Author

Request for Block Indent function

Post by Emote623 »

Hi, I'm a newbie user of AkelPad, from Seattle, WA, USA, and want to thank Mr. Shengalts Aleksander and Alexey Kuznetsov for their great program. There's a function that's missing from my older notepad program, that I'm hoping can be implemented on AkelPad without too much fuss.

It's called block-indent, when you ident the first line of a block, all the contents of that block maintains the same indentation after wordwrapping. The 'Keep Left Space' option (which should be renamed to Auto-Indent for English users) doesn't fulfill that function. The block-indent has very common use in formatting plain-text docs, and I'm hoping AkelPad can incorporate it.

Again, thanks for the very useful software, and for hope that it will be better still.

Hoang

Post by martz »

Hello,
It's an old topic but can anybody tell -- is there any way for doing this in AkelPad 4?
I'm not a programmer and I couldn't find any hints neither here nor from the (awesome!) help file. But I'd really need this kind of feature, so can anyone help?

Thanks and otherwise ovations for developing such an excellent editor!

Post by martz »

To make it more clear:
* I have wrap by words set at 80 chars.
* 'Keep left spaces' is turned on.

Now -- I'd like to create an automatic 'hanging indent' effect with either a piece of text I've pasted or the text I type. Like this:

Code: Select all

*An unindented first line. A term.
    Definition of the term in multiple lines. It should indent itself automatically
    like this both after typing and after pasting from clipboard. Lorem ipsum
    dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.

*Another unindented first line. A term.

But instead of this, here's what I get after typing or pasting to an indented line:

*An unindented first line. A term.
both aftetyping and after pasting from clipboard. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet,