Can't find how to reopen code explorer window

English main discussion
  • Author

Can't find how to reopen code explorer window

Post by Rob Crutchfield »

Hi,

I'm fairly new to AkelPad. I opened the Scripts plugin, selected a .js file, and clicked Edit. The file opened, and to the right of it a narrow window opened which appeared to be a folding outline of code structure. (Not sure there's a standard term, but in PSPad, for example, it's called the Code Explorer window.) At the top of that window's frame was a small triangular icon which I assumed was a button to minimize the window. But when I clicked the icon, the window disappeared completely. I've looked through the interface and documentation, and can't find any mention of that window; I closed everything and re-opened it the same way, but now the code explorer window doesn't appear. How can I get it back? Thanks for any help.

Using version 4.9.6 (x64) with Windows 7.

EDIT: Opened a separate installation and got the code structure window in the same way. At the top I noticed the text "Coder::CodeFold." This time the little triangle icon was next to a normal x for closing the window. The triangle actually points down, suggesting a menu rather than a minimize function. But again, when I clicked the triangle, the Coder::CodeFold window vanished, and I can't get it to come back.

DV

Re: Can't find how to reopen code explorer window

Post by DV »

I remember myself also having this problem :)
Actually I thought it has been solved already by ability to assign a different action to the key you have pressed - but looks like it has not been done so.
Anyway, here is what you need to do:
1) Press Alt+P or select Options -> Plug-ins from the main menu
2) Double-click "Coder::Settings"
3) Go to the "CodeFold 1" tab
4) Press "Auto" in the "Show list" section

Thanks, DV, that worked!