AkelPad Forum Index AkelPad
Support forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

behave like Notepad space w/mulitple lines of selected text

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hanging

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:07 am    Post subject: behave like Notepad space w/mulitple lines of selected text Reply with quote

I love AkelPad but I'm not a programmer or sophisticated technical user. I have replaced Notepad with Akelpad using the Debugger registry key and am sailing merrily along except for one thing: I can't get used to Akelpad's behavior when multiple lines of text are selected and the space bar is pressed. Akelpad selects the entire paragraph (complete line) and then puts a single space at the beginning, whereas decades of use have accustomed me to the behavior of Notepad and every other text editor/word processor I've ever used: the selected text is deleted and only after that is a space added. Akelpad does this if text on a single line is selected, but not if the selection spans multiple lines. How can I make Akelpad's spacebar behave the same on text selections for multiple lines as it does within a single line?

In the Hotkeys plugin I attempted to achieve this by specifying "command(4156) command(4168)", but unfortunately if nothing is selected, the spacebar doesn't move at all (because the two commands cancel each other out, I assume). So I need a way for Akelpad to sense that text is selected, and only then should it do "command(4156) command(4168)". Otherwise it should simply execute command(4168) alone. But I searched through the help and the text file for Hotkeys and didn't find a command that would tell Akelpad whether or not text is selected, whether multiple lines or within a line.