behave like Notepad space w/mulitple lines of selected text

English main discussion
  • Author

behave like Notepad space w/mulitple lines of selected text

Post by Hanging »

I love AkelPad but I'm not a programmer or sophisticated technical user. I have replaced Notepad with Akelpad using the Debugger registry key and am sailing merrily along except for one thing: I can't get used to Akelpad's behavior when multiple lines of text are selected and the space bar is pressed. Akelpad selects the entire paragraph (complete line) and then puts a single space at the beginning, whereas decades of use have accustomed me to the behavior of Notepad and every other text editor/word processor I've ever used: the selected text is deleted and only after that is a space added. Akelpad does this if text on a single line is selected, but not if the selection spans multiple lines. How can I make Akelpad's spacebar behave the same on text selections for multiple lines as it does within a single line?

In the Hotkeys plugin I attempted to achieve this by specifying "command(4156) command(4168)", but unfortunately if nothing is selected, the spacebar doesn't move at all (because the two commands cancel each other out, I assume). So I need a way for Akelpad to sense that text is selected, and only then should it do "command(4156) command(4168)". Otherwise it should simply execute command(4168) alone. But I searched through the help and the text file for Hotkeys and didn't find a command that would tell Akelpad whether or not text is selected, whether multiple lines or within a line.

I thought there might be a script available in the very large Scripts thread here, but I did a couple of searches, e.g. "change space hotkey", "space multiple selection" and "make space behave like notepad", but didn't find anything relevant. (If there is one, I assume that the manual tells how to apply a script to a key--otherwise I'll be asking about that too... ;)