AkelPad Forum Index AkelPad
Support forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Treat certain characters as full words
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AkelPad Forum Index -> Discussion (English)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
qoshinator



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:42 am    Post subject: Treat certain characters as full words Reply with quote

When double click selecting, some characters should be treated as full words, such as newline (\n), quotations ("), and comma (,). After all, when trying to select to the end of the line, it's unpleasant to have parts of the next line in your selection.

You can test out the problems of the current behavior by having two lines, the second with tabs at its beginning, and then double click selecting everything in the first line to its newline. You'll also select the tabs in the second line, which isn't the desired behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5315

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is not reproduced. Video

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qoshinator



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right. I was confused by the behavior of another bug: double-click selecting skips characters after the initially selected word. As an example, set WordBreak to 1+2+4+8+256=271 and type "aaa aaa\n\taaa", with \n and \t replaced by the newline and tab characters respectively. Double-click select the second aaa, and move your mouse to the right past the newline. The newline is not selected, although it should be. If you instead double-click select the first aaa, then moving your mouse past the newline will select the newline as expected.

The original problem still exists because WordBreak=256 only fixes the case of the newline character. If one types "(!@#$%^&*-=+/)))", then with double-click select the entire group of symbols must be selected at once. However, there are several good symbols for stopping: ! = . ) to name a few. If there is a big block of )))) then it is unlikely that the user wants to select all of them, even when using double-click select.

Another thing I noticed: in the first example, if you double click on the first half of the tab, the newline character is selected instead of the tab character. This seems to be an odd characteristic of the tab character.

What software are you using to create those animations? It would be very useful to me in bug reporting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5315

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qoshinator wrote:
As an example...

Quote:
...if you double click on the first half of the tab, the newline character is selected instead of the tab character.
Test version

Quote:
...However, there are several good symbols for stopping: ! = . )...
To stop on them - remove those symbols (or other @#$%...) from delimiters in settings.

Quote:
What software are you using to create those animations?
UVScreenCamera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qoshinator



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Test version
This build only fixes a specific symptom and introduces other problems. Double clicking past the end of a line now causes problems, and double clicking the first half of the tab in "aa\taa" has odd behavior.

Quote:
To stop on them - remove those symbols (or other @#$%...) from delimiters in settings.

This behavior is still not the desired one. If you type ")))))))" I believe there is no way to stop between parentheses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5315

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qoshinator wrote:
... double clicking the first half of the tab in "aa\taa" has odd behavior.
Test version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qoshinator



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instructor wrote:
qoshinator wrote:
... double clicking the first half of the tab in "aa\taa" has odd behavior.
Test version


Odd behavior still exists. To clarify: the odd behavior is that the first "aa" is selected rather than the tab that is double-clicked on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5315

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qoshinator
This is how it works in 4.7.4, but I make some changes: Test version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qoshinator



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instructor wrote:
qoshinator
This is how it works in 4.7.4, but I make some changes: Test version


Double clicking past the end of the line now crashes the program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5315

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

qoshinator
Scrupulous testing Smile

Test version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qoshinator



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instructor wrote:
qoshinator
Scrupulous testing Smile

Test version


Double clicking past the end of the line sometimes selects the newline and sometimes it doesn't. When I record using UVScreenCamera this behavior goes away and the newline is always selected. The correct behavior is to always select the newline.

Some other bugs: Type "aa\taa\taa". Double click the first "aa", holding down the mouse button after the second click, and drag your mouse slowly to the right.
1. You can't select only "aa\t", even if WordBreak is 271.
2. When your mouse passes the middle of the second tab, the last "aa" is selected.

Sorry for no gif, I tried uvScreenCamera and it is not good enough for me to pay $50.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5315

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

qoshinator
Test version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qoshinator



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instructor wrote:
qoshinator
Test version


Type "aa\tbb", double click on "aa" and then drag the mouse to the right, past the middle of the tab but before you reach "bb". "bb" will be selected, although it shouldn't be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5315

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

qoshinator
Test version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qoshinator



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instructor wrote:
qoshinator
Test version

You've fixed all the bugs you've tried to fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AkelPad Forum Index -> Discussion (English) All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


SourceForge.net Logo Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group