AkelPad Forum Index AkelPad
Support forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Find and Replace bug

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AkelPad Forum Index -> Discussion (English)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
danf84



Joined: 14 Mar 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:33 pm    Post subject: Find and Replace bug Reply with quote

Hello, I believe there's a bug in Akelpad Find and Replace feature.

For example, say I highlight/select this line in the editor:

<INPUT TYPE="Button" NAME="btnFV_Old" VALUE="FV_Old" onClick="btnFV_Old_OnClick()">

I want to ONLY replace "Old" with "New" in the selected line, so I open the dialog with CTRL+R and the "What:" text box says Old, "With:" text box says New; I select "In selection". I hit "Find next"/"Replace", the first value it finds it replaces, but it lost the original selected line, the selection changed when it found the first item.


Borland Delphi 7 editor does this by retaining the original selection, and when it finds a match it uses a different highlighting color within the original selection. It would also be nice if AkelPad could prompt before replacing.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5423

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

danf84
1. Make selection.
2. Open Replace dialog.
3. Fill "What:" and "With:".
4. Check "In selection".
5. Press "Replace all".

You can turn on option to autocheck "In selection" in settings of the program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
danf84



Joined: 14 Mar 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Replace All" works, but half the times I would want to replace some parts of the text, not every part. That's currently not possible in Akelpad for reasons outlined above (no selection within selection support).

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danf84



Joined: 14 Mar 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you tell me if you're EVER going to do this so I can consider whether to look elsewhere or try to write a plugin/modify the source.

If you're still unsure about what I mean, look at the screenshot.

[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Instructor
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 5423

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

danf84
I understand your request. Currently this is not implemented.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AkelPad Forum Index -> Discussion (English) All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


SourceForge.net Logo Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group